Happy Birthday Jan Van Eyck!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Dear Jan Van Eyck,

Hello mysterious man! I am writing to you on account of your birthday. Happy birthday!! I know friends are supposed to remember each others birthdays but I have completely forgotten. So unfortunately we don’t know how old you are because your birthdate is not confirmed. I’ll make an educated guess and say that this is your 625th birthday, I haven’t seen you in quite some time but I’m sure you don’t look a day over 600!

For only having around 25 paintings claimed to your name, you made quite a large impact on renaissance art in the 1400s. You created many of your great works while working with Phillip the Good. He was a good friend to you, he wrote to me and told me to send you his regards. He payed you very well, so that you had a lot of time to paint and not worry about paying the bills.One of my favorite pieces that you have done is the Ghent Altarpiece, it is a beautifully done polyptych. A very nice example of your artistic style at the time, a natural and realistic approach to painting.

I have always found your techniques quite amusing. You inscribe words into each of your pieces with meaning that only you understand. For years art historians have been puzzled by your pieces because there is so much mystery packed into them. You really through people for a loop with the Arnolfini portrait, no ones seems to be able to categorize this scene. I think you knew these things would happen, they are extremely clever. Well anyway since its your birthday, it is tradition to get you a gift or two.

I have 2 gifts for you. The first gift I got for you is a Laser Engraving Machine. People have created a computer powered device that will carve and inscribe designs or words. You can carve into many materials, even stone. I believe this will be of great help to you because you enjoy your inscriptions. This will be a new way to inscribe and stump art historians for years to come. The next gift I got for you is a lighting kit. I know you love to paint portraits of people using directional lighting on one of their sides. And since electricity has been invented I thought that you could use some lights to illuminate your subjects in a studio to model for a painting. You will have to learn how to use light switches and outlets but trust me its really easy. Anyway I hope your birthday is wonderful. I hope to hear from you soon and hope you like the gifts I got for you.

Sincerely,

Your Friend,

Alex Furrh

sources:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jan_van_Eyck

https://www.khanacademy.org/humanities/renaissance-reformation/northern-renaissance1/burgundy-netherlands/v/jan-van-eyck-portrait-of-a-man-self-portrait


8 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Jan Van Eyck!

  1. Those were great ideas I never knew that their were laser engraving machines. That is so cool. I will have to do some research on the laser engraving machines. Those sound really interesting.

    Like

  2. Really nice that he just made 25 paintings which compared to others its not a lot, and he made a large impact on renaissance art! Great job

    Like

  3. I enjoyed learning about Van Eyck’s “mysterious” side, as well as the influence he had on Renaissance art. Seems he was a mystery man both regarding his signatures and in the uncertainty about his birthdate. Your gift idea of a lighting kit was thoughtful and practical. Interesting blog!

    Like

  4. This artist cracks me up, not very much is known about him yet his paintings are such a staple when learning about art. Great blog

    Like

  5. I love how he would carve things only he knew into his works, that’s something I would do. He’s kept people guessing for years so it must’ve worked out.

    Like

  6. The engraving machine gift was nice. I enjoy the fact that his works are mysterious and viewers had to guess, makes it even more interesting.

    Like

Leave a comment